Skip to main navigation.

Power Supply

Pie chart graph showing sources of energy

*All or some of the renewable energy credits associated with the generation
may have been sold or may be sold in the future to other parties.

Provider of reliable energy

Southwest Iowa Rural Electric Cooperative purchases its power requirements from Central Iowa Power Cooperative (CIPCO), based in Cedar Rapids. CIPCO is Iowa's largest cooperative energy provider. In operation since 1946, CIPCO has generated and transmitted electricity to 13 member-owned electric cooperatives and associations, including Southwest Iowa Rural Electric Cooperative. These cooperatives distribute the power to populations of nearly 300,000 member-owners located in 58 of Iowa's 99 counties. The service territory stretches 300 miles diagonally across Iowa, with more than 300 member substations and delivery points.  CIPCO has a diverse mix of generation resources. Its power and energy is produced from nuclear, coal, oil, a landfill gas-to-energy system, wind and hydro power plants.

CIPCO has a percentage of ownership in a nuclear fueled facility - the NextEra Energy Duane Arnold LLC at Palo, Iowa and three coal-fired plants located in Council Bluffs and Muscatine, Iowa.

Summit Lake Station at Creston, Iowa is owned by CIPCO and is fueled by oil and natural gas.

A purchase power agreement with Linn County Solid Waste Agency was finalized to purchase the entire output from a landfill gas-to-energy system.  The 1.6 megawatts of electricity is produced when the system collects methane created by decomposing trash at its landfill site and uses it to power an internal combustion engine that drives a generator to produce electricity.

Wind and Hydro rescoures include power purchase agreements with wind centers located near Greeley, Garner, Hawkeye, Grand Junction, Mechanicsville and Audubon. CIPCO also purchases small amounts from hydroelectric systems and capacity and interchange energy from other utilitites. 

CIPCO has completed construction on over 6 MW of utility scale solar projects. Solar energy provides an abundant supply of emission and carbon-free electricity. These solar farms are located on six member sites; Osceola, Pella, Marshalltown, Urbana, Wilton and Corning, IA. 

CIPCO is also organized as a non-profit Cooperative created for the purpose of generating and transmitting electricity to its member-owners like us.

For more information click on this brochure.

 Image link to CIPCO corporate brochure

CIPCO generation and territory map



Western Area Power Administration



8 NextEra Energy Duane Arnold, Palo



Hancock County Wind Energy Center, Garner




Louisa Generating Station, Muscatine



Elk Wind Farm, Greeley




Walter Scott, Jr., Energy Center #3 & #4, Council Bluffs



Hawkeye Wind Farm, Hawkeye




Linn County Solid Waste Agency, Marion



Rippey Wind Farm, Grand Junction




Solar Sites; Osceola, Pella, Marshalltown, Urbana, Wilton and Corning



Pioneer Grove Wind, Mechanicsville




Heartland Divide Wind Energy Center, Audubon



Summit Lake Generating Plant, Creston






All or some of the renewable energy credits associated with this generation may have been sold or may be sold in the future to other parties.


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Click to learn to save with Co-op Connections Together we save and use energy wisely Click to pay your bill